Chakwera releases new cabinet:Kazako, Kaliyati, Mkaka and others axed

By Chisomo Phiri

President Lazarus Chakwera has on Tuesday night fulfilled his promise to reshuffle his cabinet by appointing 23 Ministers with 4 Deputies totalling to a 27 new member cabinet list.

In a statement signed by Secretary to the President and Cabinet Collen Zamba, the new appointments are effective January 31,2023.

In the new cabinet list, President Chakwera has axed Gospel Kazako, Timothy Mtambo, Eisenhower Mkaka, Mark Katsonga and Patricia Kaliati.

Deus Gumba and Monica Chang’anamuno have been promoted to full ministers of Lands and Mining respectively.

Madalitso Kambauwa Wilima has returned to Ministry of Education on full post as Minister as she once served as Deputy for the same ministry before.

The new faces in the new cabinet include; DPP Legislator Owen Chomanika who is new deputy Minister of merged Local Government, Unity, and Culture, Ken Zikhale Ng’oma Minister of Homeland Security, Moses Kunkuyu Minister of Information, Simplex Chithyola Banda Minister of Trade and Industry, Uchizi Mkandawire Minister of Youth and Sports and Liana Kakhobwe Chapota who has been appointed as Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation.

The new Cabinet of Ministers has been reduced in size by 13% while gender balance has been maintained at a record 40/60 per cent female/male.

Meanwhile, several analysts have uploaded Chakwera’s new Cabinet as ‘ responsive and daring’ for dropping big shots.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *